A Catch 22 (Kill)

  
I spent a lot of years of my life very upset because I felt I did more for others than they ever did for me. Wrong attitude. I eventually learned to give emotionally, physically and financially because it’s who I am despite what comes back to me and I became okay with that. Being the massive empath I am it is still hard to do something for someone and not even hear a thank you. Where it gets really tough is when said person or people constantly complain about not being treated well by others or the world and then can’t even produce a simple thank you when they are gifted with someone’s time or effort. 

Semi-related, my friends are currently working very hard to spread awareness about the 22 veteran suicides a day in the U.S. as part of a project called 22 Kill (more on that in the future.) If you’ve been around me long enough you know that mental health awareness and acceptance has been something I’ve crusaded in favor of for many many years now. In saying that, you can do all the push-ups, get all the semicolon and IGY6 tattoos, make all the posts on social media, but until you’re laying on the floor next to someone squeezing their hand and listening to them fall apart for hours…answering 3 am phone calls when someone is losing their battle and keeping them on the phone long enough to distract and reset their mind for a moment…right in the thick of the bullshit that not only PTSD, but any mental issues, be it anxiety, depression, a nervous tic, etcetera causes and actually doing something not just saying something, you’re efforts are just as in vain as the pink washing that breast cancer awareness does.

Now, this is not to say I know what I’m doing better than anyone else, nor do I get it right every time. It is, however, a challenge to put your money where your mouth is. If you’re gonna talk the talk, walk the walk. Challenge yourself to reach out and not just wait for someone who’s already struggling to come to you. 

There are givers of positive energy and their are takers of positive energy in this world. If someone is willing to break off a little piece of their good energy and gift it to you, please, at the very least, remember to tell them thank you. Those kindergarten manners go a long way in taking it back to basics of our current tumultuous human condition and in my opinion kindness is always worth it.

Leave a Reply

